Skip to content ↓

About Us

Year Teams

At Winifred Holtby, we have a dedicated, committed pastoral support team who work closely together to monitor and support the progress of all our students irrespective of their individual needs.

On joining the school each student is allocated a Tutor.

The Tutor is the first contact for parents and regular dialogue is encouraged to support the progress of students.

The Tutor group is allocated to one of our five Houses where they will stay during their time at the Academy:

  • Hedoncrofte
  • Sefholme
  • Riseholme
  • Sudtone
  • Wawne

There are a range of opportunities for students to represent their House and to take part in number of events, activities and competitions throughout the year.

Each year group has a non-teaching Head of Year and an Assistant Head of Year who work to ensure the well-being of pupils while in our care.

Year Head of Year Assistant Head of Year
7 Miss G Coulson Miss R Thorley
8 Mrs C Smithson Miss T Frankish
9 Mr S Lightowler Mrs K Fraser
10 Mrs J Branton Mr J McLeavy
11 Miss R Halpin Miss EM Holmes

The Year teams are easily accessible if students need help or guidance on health, well-being, academic, social or emotional issues.

The Year teams offer support to pupils in many different areas. They are almost always the first point of contact for parents for most queries about school or for support with any pastoral or academic issues.